Week 2: 8th of January – Peanut Butter Biscuits

Biscuits are my Achilles heel. It’s not like I buy them all the time and snuffle them down by the packet load, but if they are in the house I can’t resist the odd one or two when I get in from work, and then maybe another 1 as a post dinner treat. This Christmas I received a huge box of M&S milk chocolate covered biccies from my Mum and a tin of Scottish Shortbread from some friends (shortbread is my ultimate weakness) and I’ve been steadily munching my way through them.

Although they are completely delicious and I have no complaints, you really cannot beat home-made. The smell of freshly baked biscuits is akin to that of fresh baked bread – it fills the house and makes any mouth water. Once you have it in your nostrils, there’s NO WAY you’re waiting for them to cool before you try one, and before you know it you’re burning your tongue on the molten chocolate chunks of a soft, moist cookie or inhaling a piece of warm buttery shortbread.

One of the ad-hoc recipes in my ‘Delia’s Cakes’ book, that I hadn’t set a date constraint against, was Peanut Butter Biscuits and that was precisely because it had an ingredient list I’d most likely have lying in wait in my store cupboard so I’d be able to make them whenever I felt like it, but when I went to do just that, I realised I didn’t have any peanuts (I don’t think I’ve ever had a bag of peanuts lying around come to think of it so my convenience logic was a bit askew). So I set myself the task of buying some unsalted peanuts on Wednesday so that I could bake them that night. But bad news struck for both me and for Waitrose – they only had salted or dry roasted. I asked a member of staff (who happened to be the manager) where the unsalted peanuts were and it turns out that their supplier has gone bust and left them – and me – unsalted peanut-less! But the show must go on, so these bad boys were made with peanut butter and walnuts instead…

Peanut Butter Biscuits

And here’s the recipe of you wanna give them a try! (Apologies that it links to the Daily Mail…) http://www.dailymail.co.uk/home/you/article-2282903/Delias-cakes-Peanut-butter-biscuits.html

The only adjustment I made to this was that I left out the Demerara sugar – this left me with some yummy nutty biscuits that weren’t too sweet and that was the main compliment I received from Rob’s pack or biscuit munching economist colleagues the next day.

*TOP TIP* You might have noticed the postit note stuck to my recipe book in the photo – everything I ever bake is covered in these. It’s a great way of leaving your future self little messages about how they turned out the last time and what could possibly need tweaking – when you bake and cook as much as I do it’s sometimes hard to remember what works and what doesn’t!

This is definitely going to be a common recipe in my house now – so quick and easy to make, and you could use any number of nut variations or I may even swap the peanut butter for chocolate spread and see how that turns out. A few people at work have asked for the recipe to make with their children which is a great idea as they’re so cheap and simple to make.

One response to “Week 2: 8th of January – Peanut Butter Biscuits

  1. Pingback: January Baking Round-Up | Yummm!

Leave a Reply

