Week 2: 9th of January – Apricot Crumble Muffins

Not often am I disappointed with something that I bake – if I follow a recipe to the letter it normally turns out as it’s meant to. The only time I remember baking something and being really upset is when I tried to make Peyton and Byrnes Black Forest Gateau for Rob’s birthday last July. It was a complete disaster – the sponge was dense and tasted burnt, the cream was too rigid and the cherries too runny and wet. We did laugh about though as it looked like an absolute masterpiece… but tasted like a dogs dinner.

Yesterday morning marked the arrival of my first piece of Delia Online Silverwood baking apparatus – a 6 hole anodised muffin tray. I don’t really see how any muffin try can be better than the rest but in Delia I trust so I purchased her very own branded one (wasn’t cheap either! Swiss roll tin in the post too… might need to start selling my cakes to afford the loaf and sandwich tins). I don’t think people realise how important it is to have the correct sized tins for bigger cakes – if your loaf tin is too broad and not deep enough (as I’ll admit mine is a little) your cake will cooker quicker than the recipe states and you might end up with something too dry and crumbly so it really is best to buy the suggested tins for the book your using.

So Delia’s Apricot Crumble Muffins sounded just lovely – apricots and pecans are two ingredients I love. I followed this recipe to the gram and the minute, I used Delia’s very own tin, and still I ended up with something that looks too unappealing to photograph! They just look like big brown blobs that had splayed out over the edge of their tin rings and their little cases. They do taste good on the other hand and I had one this morning as a cheeky cakey breakfast with a big cup of Yorkshire gold, but why oh why do mine bot look like Delia’s? 

If anyone has tried this recipe before and has any pointers / feedback to offer please let me know. Alternatively you can try and bake them using this recipe and let me know how they turn out!

The muffins: 150g plain flour, 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, 1 dessert spoon baking powder, 1/4 teaspoon salt, 1 large egg, 40g dark brown soft sugar, 120ml milk, 50g butter melted and cooled, 1 teaspoon vanilla extract, 150g chopped apricots, 50g chopped pecans.

The topping: 75g soft dark brown sugar, 40g plain flour, 1/2 teaspoon baking powder, 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon, 40g melted butter, 25g chopped pecans.

Mix together all the crumble topping ingredients and leave aside.

Whisk together the egg, sugar, milk butter and vanilla. Before you add all the rest of the ingredients, double sift them to add as much air as possible. Then sift them in and fold in really quickly with the fruit and nuts so you don’t lose the air. Divide mixture between cases and bake for 25mins at 200 degrees.

Please let me know how it goes if you try it out!!!

One response to “Week 2: 9th of January – Apricot Crumble Muffins

  1. Pingback: January Baking Round-Up | Yummm!

Leave a Reply

