Week 3: 19th of January – Oatmeal & Raisin Cookies

I’m going to let you in on a secret… I don’t actually like raisins. I’ll eat them if I’m given something with them in but I’d never choose too, and in my opinion there is just nothing worse than savoury food where a raisin or a sultana rears its ugly head. Coronation Chicken is the biggest culprit for this. I’m just not a fan. But something I do love is biscuits and believe it or not, give me a biscuit with a raisin in it, and I will be your friend forever. It’s funny isn’t it, how our little brains work and say ‘no, this raisin is completely out of place in this curry’ but then ‘yum, I’m glad you put raisins in these biccies’. Anyway, I digress.

In short, I don’t usually like raisins, but I do like them in biscuits (I’d probably eat anything in a biscuit though). Note: I’ve just noticed that I’ve been prattling on in terms of ‘biscuits’ but what I made were in Delia’s words ‘cookies’. Is there a difference? If there is an explanation it would be much appreciated. I suppose in the US biscuits are those little crumbly bread rolls so they need another word for proper biscuits?

Out came ‘Delia’s Cakes’ again to look at what I’d planned to bake for the week ahead and I noticed that I had scheduled her oatmeal and raisin cookies for this week… but it was 9pm on Sunday night! It had to be done. The oven went on and my mixing bowl came out and by 10pm we had 24 oatmeal and raisin cookies cooling on the rack.

Here is Delia’s recipe: http://www.deliaonline.com/recipes/cuisine/european/english/oat-and-raisin-cookies.html

cookies

I’m slightly ashamed to say that I didn’t quite trust Delia’s recipe… I thought it was way too heavy on the dry ingredients and when I mixed in the butter and egg I felt the mixture was far too crumbly so like the idiot I am, I defied her by adding a tablespoonish sized squirt of golden syrup to help bind my mixture but this instead just made it very sticky and harder to shape (most of it ended up stuck to my hands and the bowl) and as you can see my cookies splayed a little more than ideal so I’ve ended up with something a bit flatter than desired. Despite all this, they taste absolutely fantastic!

They actually act as a great breakfast on the move – the cereally quality leant to them by the oatmeal makes them a kind of cookie shaped cereal bar!

One response to “Week 3: 19th of January – Oatmeal & Raisin Cookies

  1. Pingback: January Baking Round-Up | Yummm!

Leave a Reply

